Table of contents

In this article, you can gain some insight into User Profiles.

User_Profile_1.png

Happeo offers a User Profile for every user. The information displayed here is always up-to-date and synced from Google Workspace and Azure. The user themself manages some of the information, but most are admin managed.

Where to find User Profiles

Whenever a user's name appears in a Channel Post, comment, People Directory, etc., their User Profile can be easily accessed by simply clicking on their name. This convenient feature lets you quickly view important information about other users in the environment, making connecting and engaging with others easier.

You can also message, call, and / or schedule an event with a user when viewing their User Profile at the top right corner. These options depend on the contact information they have provided and the Integrations they have enabled.

Additionally, each user profile page has a unique URL that can be linked to from in and outside Happeo.

To view your own User Profile, you can:

  1. Click on your Avatar at the top-right corner of the page
  2. Select Public profile

User_Profiles_1.png

User information from Google Workspace and Azure

The user information list is synced from Google Workspace and / or Azure. 

User_Profiles_2.png

  • Profile picture
  • Employee ID (This is a user’s Happeo ID)
  • Phone numbers and their labels
    • E.g. work phone number
  • Primary email 
  • Secondary emails
  • Position title 
  • Department
  • Manager
  • Work address
  • Cost center
  • Birthday
  • Additional info (custom user attributes)
  • Calendar schedule
  • Google groups / Microsoft groups memberships
  • Organizational unit

User information from Happeo

Some of the information is user-managed (from the User Settings) and comes from Happeo. Here's the list of information:

Managed through User information > My information > Additional information

  • Description
  • Skills

Managed through User information > My information > My settings

  • Out-of-office start date
  • Out-of-office end date
  • Out-of-office message

Synchronization

The user information is synced within two hours. This means that when a Google Workspace or Azure admin changes user information, the user information will be reflected in Happeo.

However, Happeo keeps a 12-hour cache of opened users, meaning you may see old user information for up to 12 hours if the user data is fetched from the cache.

Updating your Happeo profile picture and cover

The Happeo user profile picture is synced from Google Workspace (as of now, not Azure). However, if you would like to update your profile picture manually:

  1. You can navigate to your User Settings and click on Change Avatar
    1. By updating your profile picture through your Google account, all Google Workspace services will have the same photo (Gmail, Drive, Calendar, etc.)

Note that Admins can modify or remove profile covers. This implies Admins can alter cover images for specific profiles, albeit not all simultaneously. Meanwhile, the default cover image aligns with the company's branding guidelines and mirrors the primary branding color established in the Admin Setting of the environment.

To change your profile cover, you can:

  1. Click on your Avatar at the top-right corner of the page
  2. Select Public profile
  3. Click Change cover
  4. Select Click to upload
  5. Select an image you want to add as a cover
  6. Frame the image to your liking
  7. Select Upload original or Crop and upload
  8. If you wish to remove the image, you can click the bin icon next to Change cover

User_Profiles_2.png

 

Will deleting a user's profile photo from Google Workspace also result in deleting the same photo from their profile in Happeo?

Yes, removing a user’s profile photo from Google Workspace would also remove it from their Happeo profile. If you are experiencing any issues, please get in touch with our support team.

 

Hide users from the Search

You can hide users from the Search by unselecting the contact sharing option in the Google Workspace admin panel.

Specifically, to hide users from search:

  1. Go to Google Workspace Directory in the Google Workspace Admin Panel
  2. Click Directory Settings
  3. Click the downwards-facing arrow next to Sharing Settings
  4. Click the edit symbol next to Contact Sharing
  5. Uncheck Enable contact sharing

For Microsoft users, please see this article.

Admin Settings: Hide and reorder the organization of attributes

As an Admin, if you wish to hide or reorder the organization in which the attributes are displayed in User Profiles, you can do so via the Admin Settings People Directory. For more information, please this article

Troubleshooting

My profile picture is not syncing from Google Workspace

This issue is because the Google API cannot send the image file to Happeo. However, uploading a new avatar image to your Google Workspace can usually resolve the problem.

To resolve this issue:

  1. Log into Google
  2. Click on your avatar image and select Manage Your Google Account
  3. Click on your profile picture
  4. Click Change at the bottom left corner
  5. Log into Happeo and go to User Settings (through your Avatar at the top-right corner of the page)
  6. Click Sync from Google Workspace

Alternative troubleshooting

If your profile picture is still not syncing, we recommend that you upload your profile picture through Happeo. You can do so by:

  1. Going to Happeo
  2. Clicking on your avatar and then User Settings
  3. Go to My information
  4. Then click Upload profile avatar
  5. Upload your profile picture
Previous
Next
7946050557457
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.