Here, you can learn about how to make Pages with multiple languages within a Page.
How does it work?
You can create multilingual Pages easily. You only need to remember a couple of things when adding language versions:
- Different language versions of the Page inherit the primary language content by default
- By changing the default content of a Widget, for example, the Page will get unpublished
- If a user has selected a language version in which certain Pages are not published, viewers will not see these Pages in the navigation
Alright, now that you know those 3 things, let's see how to get started with languages.
Add primary and secondary languages
First, you need to add the primary and secondary languages to your Page, and don't worry, these can be changed later on.
After you have added a primary language and at least one secondary language, you'll see the language selection button appearing on the top right corner of the Page.
Editing language content
You can now see the current editing language on every top right corner of heroes. Also, you can see the language next to the Page Group name and Page names. It's easy to remember that everything that has that language label can be changed into a different language. Below is a list of what can be set as different languages:
- Page group name
- Page name
- Hero text
- Widget header
- Widget content
As you can see from the list, the rows and Widget ordering cannot be changed into a different language - only the content.
Please rest assured, however, that if you remove or add a Widget or row in a language version it will not affect all language versions. This is because when you add a language version, Happeo will create a copy of the Page in which you can translate the content. After the creation of the language version, the Pages are not linked with each other and whatever you edit in the translation has no impact on the original Page.
Now that you added languages to your Page, let's focus on publishing and unpublishing Pages.
You have 2 options: publish language or publish all languages.
If you simply click publish, it will publish the language you have currently selected. By pressing publish all languages, you'll publish all language versions of that Page.
Removing a language
Removing a language happens from the Manage Languages section (the same place where you added them). From here, you can remove or change the primary language. If you remove a language, that language version will not be deleted. You can restore the language version simply by adding it back.
If you remove a language and then decide to add the same language you removed, you will receive a pop up asking if you would like to restore the translations or create a new one.
Default content language settings vs. multilingual Pages
To explain how default content language settings interact with multilingual Pages, please see the scenario below:
- A user has set their default content language settings to Finnish
- The user navigate to a Page where the primary language is set to English, whereas the secondary language is set to Finnish
- Based on the default content language settings for the specifc user, the Page will automatically show the Finnish language Page, regardless if the Page's primary language is set to English