In this article, you can read about Lifecycle Management and what it entails.
What is it?
Lifecycle Management is about managing the content in Happeo and ensuring that stale content will be archived automatically or reviewed by Owners. This helps to keep the information up-to-date or at least eliminate the unnecessary information that no one has actively used or updated.
Currently, the feature only affects Channels and Pages.
- Lifecycle Management is not activated by default for organizations
- Admins can select the duration after which a Page or a Channel will be considered stale, in other words, not active or up-to-date
- Admins can enable staleness and automatic archiving
- Only Owners of a particular Channel or Page can see if the Channel or Page is stale (in their User Settings). The Editors and Viewers won’t see it. They will only “see” if it is archived
- The Lifecycle Management is not shown in User Settings before the Admin has enabled the Lifecycle Management
How to enable and manage the Lifecycle of Channels and Pages
As an Admin, to enable and manage Lifecycle Management, you can:
- Navigate to your Admin Settings by clicking your Happeo avatar and selecting Admin Settings
- Click Lifecycle Management from the settings menu
- Select Channels or Pages at the top
- Note: You can do the following process for both Channels and Pages
- Toggle Active under Activate lifecycle management
- Decide how long a Channel or Page remains active before being considered "stale." For example, setting this to one month means content inactive or un-updated for that period will be flagged as “stale”
- (Optional) Toggle automatic Channel / Page archiving or unpublishing - If you set this option, for example, to one month, stale Channels and Pages will be archived one month after they are considered stale
Below is a screenshot of the Channels tab under Lifecycle Management. You can manage the settings for Channels’ Lifecycle Management and automatic Channel archiving here.
You can also find a list of stale Channels with information such as:
- Channel Owners
- Channels’ last activities
- When Channels were marked as stale
- Archival dates of Channels
You can also click on the three dots next to a Channel to manage, refresh, or archive the Channel manually.
Channels are measured by their activeness. If none of the following events happens during the activeness period, the Channel will be considered “stale."
Activeness can be determined by the following:
- Participants added or removed
- Channel Folders created or updated
- Channel Calendar created or updated
- Channel Google Meets or Microsoft Teams created or updated
- Post, comment, like created, updated, or deleted
- Channel Integrations activated or updated
- Channel unarchived
- Settings updated
- Draft edited, shared, or published
- Post pinned
Below is a screenshot of the Pages tab under Lifecycle Management. You can manage the settings for Pages’ Lifecycle Management and automatic Page archiving here.
You can also find a list of stale Pages with information about:
- Page authors
- When Pages were last updated
- By whom Pages were last updated
- When Pages were marked as stale
- Pages’ unpublishing date
You can also click on the three dots next to a Page to view, refresh, edit, or unpublish the Page manually.
Pages are not tracked by their activeness but rather by their up-to-dateness. So every time a Page Author / Editor changes or publishes a Page, its “reviewed date” value is updated.
When Lifecycle Management is enabled, you'll receive weekly reminders about content nearing its automatic archiving or unpublishing date.
Here's what you need to know:
- Who receives notifications: Content Owners and Editors will receive email and in-app notifications every Monday. These notifications highlight which Channels and Pages are considered "stale" and are approaching automatic archiving or unpublishing
- Enabling notifications: For content Owners and Editors to receive these reminders, Lifecycle Management must be enabled. If you're a platform Admin, please enable this feature to give your users these updates
- Not an Admin? Simply reach out to your platform Admin and request they enable Lifecycle Management. This will ensure that you stay informed about important content updates
Auto-archiving and auto-unpublishing
Turning on Lifecycle Management allows for the automatic archiving of Channels and unpublishing of Pages based on the settings selected in the Admin Settings > Lifecycle Management. However, to prevent accidental content loss, we've implemented safeguards:
- Minimum threshold: Similar to Lifecycle Management's manual configuration, automatic actions won't occur until content reaches a minimum of 4 weeks (1 month) past its archiving / unpublishing date. This grace period allows you to review and update content if needed
- Pre-action notifications: Before automatic archiving or unpublishing, Owners and Editors will receive at least 4 notifications regarding their content, giving them ample time to take action
- Manual override: You can always manually archive or unpublish content, regardless of automated actions
Updating stale Pages and Channels
To take a Page or Channel out of its "stale" state, you can:
- Navigate to the Admin Settings
- Click Channels from the sidebar on the left
- Click Stale
- Click Update next to the Channel you wish to take out of its "stale" state
- Navigate to the Admin Settings
- Click Pages from the sidebar on the left
- Click Stale
- Click Update next to the Page you wish to take out of its "stale" state