Table of contents

This article explains how to modify your Happeo Integration sync scope in Google Workspace.

Note: To modify your Happeo sync scope in Google Workspace, you must be a Google Admin or have permission to modify user access and permissions.

Prerequisites

This article assumes that you have already established synchronization between your Google Workspace and Happeo. 

This synchronization can either be a full sync (all organizational units are synchronized to Happeo) or a limited synchronization (a limited number of organizational units (OUs) are synchronized with Happeo).

In this article, we'll go over the steps needed to reduce or increase the scope of your synchronization.

Modify an existing full sync to a limited sync

To modify an existing full sync to a limited sync, you must first identify if the assigned sync account user is a Super Admin in your Google Workspace. If so, you will need to remove the sync account user Super Admin permission.

To do so, you can:

  1. Go to the Google Workspace Admin Panel (admin.google.com)
  2. Click Directory
  3. Click Users

Modify_Google_Workspace_Integration_Sync_Scope_1.png

Then, you can:

  1. Click the sync account user or search for the user in the list
  2. Scroll down the right-hand panel until you see Admin roles and privileges
  3. Click the downward arrow at the top-right corner of the title
  4. Hover over the roles and click the pencil icon at the top right corner. 
  5. This will take you to the Admin roles and privileges editor
  6. If the Super Admin role is assigned, click the slider to unassign the role
  7. Scroll down and click Save

Modify_Google_Workspace_Integration_Sync_Scope_2.png

You can then follow the steps in this article under Create and assign admin roles.

Modify an existing limited sync

In this section, we will provide you with the steps necessary to modify your limited sync scope. Modifying a limited sync scope is needed if either of the following statements is true:

  • Additional OUs have been created in your Google Workspace and need to be included in your Happeo sync
    • This means that you added the OU in Google and can’t see the OU in Happeo yet
  • Your current Happeo sync has OUs that no longer need to be listed in Happeo

To modify an existing limited sync, you must identify if the assigned sync account user is a Super Admin in your Google Workspace. If so, you will need to remove the Super Admin permission from the sync account user. 

You can follow the steps below:

  1. Go to the Google Workspace Admin Panel (admin.google.com)
  2. Go to Directory
  3. Then to Users
  4. Click the sync account user or search for the user in the list
  5. Scroll down the right-hand panel until you see Admin roles and privileges
  6. Click the downward arrow at the top-right corner of the title
  7. Hover over the roles and click the pencil icon at the top right corner. This will take you to the Admin roles and privileges editor
  8. If the Super Admin role is assigned, click the slider to unassign the role

Screen_Shot_2023-01-30_at_14.07.15.png

Then, you can:

  1. Click the Scope of role column for the Happeo User Sync role to modify the OUs
  2. Add or remove checks next to the OUs
  3. Click the Save button in the lower right corner of the Roles and Privileges section

Then, log into Happeo and:

  1. Go to Admin Settings
  2. Click User Management
  3. Click on the Google Workspace tab
  4. Scroll down and click Update OU list

Modify_Google_Workspace_Integration_Sync_Scope_5.png

Lastly, you’ll need to verify that the OU list in Happeo has been updated to reflect the changes made to the sync scope.

Previous
Next
12577824284689
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.