Table of contents

Here, you can find details regarding Channel folders & files and how their permissions work.

What is a Channel Folder?

The Channel folder is a Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive folder integrated directly with a Happeo Channel. 

What are Channel files?

Channel files are files that exist in Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive. For example, Drive folders and shared drives can be linked to a specific Channel and therefore will be shared with all members belonging to that Channel. 

How to attach a Folder to a Channel

The easiest way to attach a folder is right after creating a new Channel. Just go to the:

  1. Settings tab
  2. Scroll down to Tools
  3. Toggle on Files

You can then navigate to the Folders tab within the Channel’s menu. 

From there, you will be asked to select a provider (if both the Google Drive and Microsoft OneDrive integrations have been enabled for your environment). 

Channel_Folders_and_Files_1.png

After you've attached a folder through one of the methods described previously, it will be automatically shared with Channel members with editing rights (if the Channel discovery options are set to Only invited users or Anyone in my organization can ask to join). This will ensure that all members of the Channel always have access to the files.

Happeo also removes the permissions of any members who leave or are removed from the Channel.

Channel_Folders_and_Files_2.png

For more information about setting up request access, please see this article.

Attaching a Team Drive Folder

If you decide to attach a Team Drive subfolder to a Channel, you will receive a warning that automatic sharing is off. This is due to Google Drive's limitation/feature, which prevents changing the sharing permissions of Team Drive subfolders.

Channel_Folders_and_Files_3.png

How to add a Channel file

Google Drive

When you choose Google Drive as your provider in a Channel Folder, you will be given the options to:

  • Create a new folder
    • Creating a new folder will add it to the creator's Google Drive
    • This is also the case for the Channel owner, so if a user creates a new folder, that folder will be added to the Channel owner’s Google Drive
  • Create a new shared drive
  • Select an existing folder or shared drive

Once, for example, a new shared drive has been created in the Channel, you will be directed to the Drive folder within the Channel where you can:

  • Create new folders
  • Bookmark files
  • Add Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, Forms
  • Or upload content from your computer

Moreover, by clicking on the three dots (hover next to the bookmark icon) next to a folder you can: 

  • Open the file in Google Drive
  • Find the file in Google Drive
  • Rename the file
  • Create a post containing the folder as an attachment
  • Move the folder to a different location (within Google Drive)
  • Remove the file

Channel_Folders_and_Files_1.png

By clicking on the three dots next to a file such as a Google Doc you can:

  • Open the document in Google Drive
  • Find the document in Google Drive
  • Rename the document 
  • Create a post containing the document as an attachment
  • Copy the document
  • Move the document to a different location (within Google Drive)
  • Remove the document

Channel_Folders_and_Files_4.png

Lastly, by clicking on the three dots within a shared drive menu you can:

  • View the folders and content from a thumbnail view
  • Show new files that have been added to the Channel files 
  • Show files that have been updated

Microsoft OneDrive

When you choose Microsoft OneDrive as your provider in a Channel Folder, you will be given the options to:

  • Create new folders
    • Creating a new folder will add it to the creator's OneDrive
    • This is also the case for the Channel owner, so if a user creates a new folder, that folder will be added to the Channel owner’s OneDrive
  • Select an existing folder

Once a folder has been made or selected, you can:

  • Open files (will open in OneDrive)
  • Bookmark files
  • Add Microsoft Word docs, PowerPoints, and Visios
  • Or upload content from your computer

How do Channel file permissions work?

In general, the sharing permissions for files that are added to a Channel are overwritten for users who are members of that particular Channel. You can find more details regarding specific cases below: 

  1. If a folder has already been shared with some users and then added to a Channel’s files, the sharing settings are overridden for the Channel members to give them editing privileges
  2. If a folder has not yet been shared with a particular Channel’s users and is then added to that Channel, the members of that Channel will be given editing rights 
  3. If a folder has been shared with members of a Channel and it has been added to that Channel, adding new users will override the folder’s permissions to give them editing privileges
  4. If a folder is added to a Channel and is shared with members of that Channel, changing the permission settings in Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive will override whatever settings that have been set in the Channel/Happeo

Channel_Folders_and_Files_5.png

Limitations

There are currently two limitations to the Folder functionality:

  1. You can only attach one folder per Channel
  2. If you change the owner of a Channel, the automatic sharing may not work if the new owner does not have sharing permissions

 

 

Previous
Next
7927060262417