In this article, you can learn how to manage Channel Notifications and understand the notifications rules.
How can Channel Notifications be managed?
Channel Notifications can be managed from within the Channel, User Settings, or from the Notification Center. The easiest way to alter your Channel Notifications is by:
- Opening a Channel
- Navigating to My Notification Settings in the right-hand panel
- And selecting the notification priority of your liking
Overview of notification priority for Channels
- What it does - Users will receive notifications about all activity
- Whom it affects - All users who set a Channel's priority as high
- What it does - Users will receive notifications about new Posts, mentions, and comments on posts they've participated in. Channel Owners and Editors will also receive notifications about administrative activity, such as someone asking to join the Channel
- Whom it affects - All users who set a Channel's priority as medium
- What it does - Users will receive notifications about Posts they've participated in and when another user mentions them. Channel Owners and Editors will also receive notifications about administrative activity, such as someone asking to join the Channel
- Whom it affects - All users who set a Channel priority as low
- What it does - Users will not receive notifications from the Channel and Channel Posts will also be removed from My Stream
- Whom it affects - All users who set a Channel priority as muted
Note: Posts you've participated in include Posts you've created or subscribed to, and Posts with your comments and reactions.
Managing notifications from Channel settings
Managing notifications from a Channel's Settings will allow you to manage the Notification Settings for that specific Channel. To manage all notifications, you will need to access your Channel Notifications in User Settings under your avatar or through the Notification Center.
Managing notifications from User Settings
From your User Settings, you are able to not only update your Channel Notification Settings but also choose your general Notification Settings.
Overview of the types of notifications
- What it does when toggled on - Desktop notifications will appear when a user is @ mentioned or a new Channel is shared with them. You can find more information regarding this here
- Whom it affects - All users who have toggled on desktop notifications from Happeo
- What it does when toggled on - Users will receive email notifications from Happeo
- Whom it affects - All users who have toggled on email notifications from Happeo
- What it does when toggled on - Users will receive daily emails containing all updates from the day based on their Channel Notification Settings
- Whom it affects - All users who have toggled on Daily Digest Notifications from Happeo
Managing notifications from Notification settings
Accessing Notifications from the Notifications Settings will take you to the Notifications Tab under User Settings.
Marking notifications read and unread
When you hover over a notification in your notifications menu, you can click on the grey dot next to the notification to mark it as read. A blue checkmark should appear when you click on the dot to indicate that you have read it.
Alternatively, after marking a notification as read, you can scroll down to your read notifications and mark as unread by clicking on the blue dot when hovering over a notification.
Managing notifications from the Admin panel
As an Admin, you can force a Channel's Notifications to high which will change the Notification's Settings for all the Participants of that particular Channel.
An example of a situation where forcing a Channel's Notification to high is useful is when a Secondary News Channel serves as a Channel for events that are relevant to all people within your organization.
So, if you, an Admin, wish to force all notifications to high for a Channel, you can:
- Navigate to the Admin settings under your avatar
- Click Channels
- Click the three dots next to the Channel you would like to set the Notification Settings to high
- Click Force notifications to HIGH
Below you will find how notifications work depending on the settings that have been applied.
Desktop notifications need to be enabled by each user using the toggle in User Settings > Notification Settings. A user will only receive desktop notifications if they have Happeo open in a tab within their browser window.
Are sent when the Notification Settings of the Channel for the current user are medium or high.
When on low settings, you will receive in-app and email notifications about Posts you've participated in and when you are mentioned. Channel Owners and Editors will also receive in-app and email notifications about administrative activity, such as someone asking to join the Channel.
When on medium settings, mentioning, Channel invitations, and post on behalf are sent in-app but also as emails. New posts, new comments, and the rest are just sent in-app.
When on high, you will receive emails also for new Posts, comments, etc.
As an example of how notifications may differ per user:
- User A with medium Notification Settings and no Desktop notifications activated will receive different types of notifications in different ways / Channels
- Compared to User B who has all or different settings activated
Note: Notifications might encounter some delay. In-app it is the save to DB detail which is not very long and emails can have around 5 minutes of delay caused by the delay set by us + cloud task workload and other parameters.
Daily digest emails
These emails will only be sent if the user has toggled it on in the User Settings > Notification Settings
Owners and Editors will also receive in-app and email notifications about Channel staleness.
Note: Stale Channels refer to Channels that have not been updated for a specific amount of time, and will automatically be unpublished after a specific amount of time if staleness continues. To read more about Lifecycle Management.
Please see this article for more information about stale Channels.
Even if a user has multiple ghostwriters, only users that are part of a Channel can be ghostwritten in that particular Channel and that is why the list under Post Author does not contain all the people who have been added as a ghostwriter (in general and not in the specific Channel).