In this article, you can learn how to change Channel posting permission levels and discovery options.
Channel permission settings
Channels have two main permission settings: discovery and posting & commenting permissions.
By default, the discovery is restricted. To edit the discovery options for a Channel, you can navigate to the Channel's settings and scroll down to the Discover section.
For other Channels (e.g. Secondary news Channels), however, the discovery options include:
- Restricted (default): Not visible in discovery, joining by sharing
- Ask to join: Visible in discovery, anyone can ask to join from the discovery view
- Anyone can join: Visible in discovery, anyone can join automatically
Posting and commenting permissions
You can set the posting and commenting permissions by navigating to a Channel's settings and scrolling down to the Restrictions section. By editing these permissions, you can control who can create posts and comments in a Channel's discussion.
Below, you can find the posting and commenting permission options:
- Anyone can post and comment (default)
- Anyone can comment, but posting is restricted to Channel owners and editors
- Only the Channel owner and editors can comment and post